February 5, 2004 – Lighthouse Point, Florida. The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and the Workflow And Reengineering International Association (WARIA) are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2004 Global Excellence Awards for innovation and excellence in workflow implementations. These prestigious awards are used to recognize organizations that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative solutions to meet strategic business objectives.

“The finalists represent an interesting diversity of applications,” said Jon Pyke, WfMC Chair and CTO Staffware Plc., “We are noticing more implementations deploying business process management (BPM), and the interoperation of processes among different systems shows that workflow is still the glue of information systems.”

In judging, particular attention was paid to workflow implementations that show workflow extending beyond the corporate boundaries to support customers, suppliers, trading partners and more. The following list identifies the nominees from each region, followed by the names of external nominators, if any.

North America

·         CIT Group Inc., USA

·         Community Empower, USA

·         Missouri Public Service Commission, USA

·         Pershing Technology Group, USA

Middle East—Africa 

·         Aqaba Special Economic Zone Authority, Jordan

·         DenizBank, Turkey

·         First National Bank Card Division, South Africa

·         Nedbank Ltd., South Africa

Pacific Rim

·         Korea Trade-Investment Promotion Agency (KOTRA), Korea

·         Satyam Computer Services Ltd., India

·         Wintech Microelectronics Corporation, Taiwan

·         Woori Bank, Korea

Pan European

·         EMI/Virgin, France

·         National Assembly for Wales, United Kingdom

·         UBS AG, Switzerland

·         Warships Support Agency, United Kingdom

South America

·         Tarjeta Naranja S.A. Argentina

The Global Excellence in Workflow Awards are now in their 15th year. The Gold and Silver Awards will be presented Javits Center at 4:00 pm on Tuesday, March 9, 2004, in conjunction with the AIIM Conference and Expo, New York.

Winners and finalists will receive additional recognition by having their case studies published in the next volume of Excellence in Practice by Future Strategies Inc. For questions relating directly to the Awards, please contact Layna Fischer, the Awards Director, at +1 954 782 3376 or email awards@waria.com.

About the Workflow Management Coalition (www.wfmc.org)

The WfMC, founded in August 1993, is a non-profit, international organization of workflow vendors, users, analysts and university/research groups. The Coalition's mission is to promote and develop the use of workflow through the establishment of standards for software terminology, interoperability and connectivity between workflow products. Comprising over 300 members throughout the world, the Coalition is the primary standards body for this significant software market. The creation of the WfMC Standards Reference Model has proved its importance in other areas of technology, most notably the ISO Seven Layer reference model for computer communications.

About WARIA (www.waria.com)

The charter of the Workflow And Reengineering International Association is to identify and clarify issues that are common to all users of workflow and those who are in the process of reengineering their organizations. WARIA's mission is to make sense of what's happening at the intersection of Business Process Reengineering, Process Management, Workflow and Electronic Commerce and reach clarity through sharing experiences, product evaluations, networking among users and vendors, education and training.