2005 Finalists Announced
for Excellence in BPM & Workflow Global Awards

September 27, 2005 – Lighthouse Point, Florida. The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and the Workflow And Reengineering International Association (WARIA) are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2005 Global Excellence Awards for innovation and excellence in Business Process Management (BPM) and workflow implementations. These prestigious awards are used to recognize organizations that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative solutions to meet strategic business objectives.

“The array of finalists demonstrates the broad applicability of workflow and BPM technology – furthermore we see that there is still a significant amount of innovation occurring in the so-called unfashionable people-to-people deployments showing clearly that this type of solution is what the customers are looking for.” said Jon Pyke, WfMC Chair and CEO TheProcessFactory, “As we have seen in the past, workflow continues to be used to tie diverse systems together ensuring that information is delivered to the right place at the right time every time.”

In judging, particular attention was paid to implementations that show workflow extending beyond the corporate boundaries to support customers, suppliers, trading partners and more. The following list identifies the nominees from each region.

North America

·         Grupo Financiero Uno, Miami, USA

·         The Kansas Department of Transportation, USA

·         Pershing Technology Group, USA

·         Zenith National Insurance Corporation, USA

Middle East—Africa 

·         Amman Chamber of Industry, Jordan

·         Nedbank Ltd., South Africa

Pacific Rim

·         AcBel Polytech, Taiwan

·         OCBC Bank (Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation), Singapore

·         Samsung Heavy Industries, Korea

Pan European

·         CitiBank, Germany

·         Diagonal Solutions, United Kingdom

·         Swiss Re, Switzerland

·         Warships Support Agency, United Kingdom

South America

·         La Voz del Interior. Argentina

·         University of Santa Cruz do Sul, Brazil


The Global Excellence in BPM & Workflow Awards are now in their 16th year. The Gold and Silver Awards will be presented at the Renaissance Hotel in Seoul, Korea at 10:00 am on Thursday, October 13, 2005, in conjunction with the BPM Korea Forum (KOSA) Conference and Expo and the WfMC Fall Meeting.

Winners and finalists will receive additional recognition by having their case studies published in the next volume of Excellence in Practice by Future Strategies Inc. For questions relating directly to the Awards, please contact Layna Fischer, the Awards Director, at +1 954 782 3376 or email awards@waria.com.

About the Workflow Management Coalition (www.wfmc.org)

The WfMC, founded in August 1993, is a non-profit, international organization of workflow vendors, users, analysts and university/research groups. The Coalition's mission is to promote and develop the use of workflow through the establishment of standards for software terminology, interoperability and connectivity between workflow products. Comprising over 300 members worldwide, the Coalition is the only standards body for this specific software market. The creation of the WfMC Standards Reference Model has proved its importance in other areas of technology, most notably the ISO Seven Layer reference model for computer communications.

About WARIA (www.waria.com)

The charter of the Workflow And Reengineering International Association is to identify and clarify issues that are common to all users of workflow and those who are in the process of reengineering their organizations. WARIA's mission is to make sense of what's happening at the intersection of Business Process Reengineering, Process Management, Workflow and Electronic Commerce and reach clarity through sharing experiences, product evaluations, networking among users and vendors, education and training.




Layna Fischer, Awards Director
Tel: (1) 954 782 3376
Fax: (1) 954 782 6365