October 13, 2005 – Seoul, Korea. The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and the Workflow And Reengineering International Association (WARIA) announced here today the names of the Gold and Silver winners for the 2005 Global Excellence Awards for innovation and excellence in Business Process Management (BPM) and workflow implementations. These prestigious awards are used to recognize organizations that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative solutions to meet strategic business objectives.

“We congratulate the 2005 winners for the particularly high standard of innovation shown in their BPM and workflow implementations. The positive impact on their business objectives has helped them move the goalposts for their respective industries,” said Jon Pyke, WfMC Chair and CEO TheProcessFactory, “Workflow software continues to tie diverse systems together ensuring that information is delivered to the right place at the right time every time.”

In judging, particular attention was paid to implementations that showed workflow extending beyond the corporate boundaries to support customers, suppliers, trading partners and more.

“These are significant achievements in the face of heavy competition, “said Layna Fischer, Awards Director and General Manager, WfMC. “This year, in an unprecedented decision by the judges, two Silver Award winners were selected for the Pan European region. Both received exceptionally high recommendations for this award, and therefore each recipient will receive a silver trophy. The judges also commented that the overall quality of submissions this year from the Pacific Rim was higher than ever.”

The following list identifies the winners from each region.

Middle East—Africa 

Silver Award

Nedbank, South Africa

Gold Award

Amman Chamber of Industry, Jordan

North America

Silver Award

Kansas Department of Transportation, USA

Gold Award

Grupo Financiero Uno, USA

Pacific Rim

Silver Award

AcBel Polytech Inc., Taiwan

Gold Award

Samsung Heavy Industries, Korea

Pan European

Silver Award

CitiBank, Germany and Swiss Re, Switzerland

Gold Award

Warships Support Agency, United Kingdom

South America

Gold Award

La Voz del Interior. Argentina

Silver Award

University of Santa Cruz do Sul, Brazil


The Global Excellence Awards for innovation and excellence in Business Process Management (BPM) and workflow implementations are now in their 16th year. The Gold and Silver Awards winners were presented with their trophies at the Renaissance Hotel in Seoul, Korea on Thursday, October 13, 2005, in conjunction with the BPM Korea Forum (KOSA) Conference and Expo and the WfMC Fall Meeting.

About the Workflow Management Coalition (

The WfMC, founded in August 1993, is a non-profit, international organization of workflow vendors, users, analysts and university/research groups. The Coalition's mission is to promote and develop the use of workflow through the establishment of standards for software terminology, interoperability and connectivity between workflow products. Comprising over 300 members worldwide, the Coalition is the only standards body for this specific software market. The creation of the WfMC Standards Reference Model has proved its importance in other areas of technology, most notably the ISO Seven Layer reference model for computer communications.

About WARIA (

The charter of the Workflow And Reengineering International Association is to identify and clarify issues that are common to all users of workflow and those who are in the process of reengineering their organizations. WARIA's mission is to make sense of what's happening at the intersection of Business Process Reengineering, Process Management, Workflow and Electronic Commerce and reach clarity through sharing experiences, product evaluations, networking among users and vendors, education and training.




Layna Fischer, Awards Director
Tel: (1) 954 782 3376
Fax: (1) 954 782 6365